Read The Iron Star by Brock Hoagland Terrie Smith Roz Gibson Online

the-iron-star

Brock Hoagland's anthropomorphic fantasy adventures have been pleasing readers for over a half-dozen years in magazines such as Yarf!, Fantastic Furry Stories, and Magic Carpet, as well as his own collection, Tales of Perissa. They have also been growing in length and scope.Now Hoagland has written his first adult novel. Brennus, a young cougar warrior, is sent on a questBrock Hoagland's anthropomorphic fantasy adventures have been pleasing readers for over a half-dozen years in magazines such as Yarf!, Fantastic Furry Stories, and Magic Carpet, as well as his own collection, Tales of Perissa. They have also been growing in length and scope.Now Hoagland has written his first adult novel. Brennus, a young cougar warrior, is sent on a quest to recover a stone from the heavens before the priests of the militant god Ashkar can use it to spread war and slaughter. The trail leads Brennus and the companions who gather around him (including a serval thief, a badger wizard, and a cursed jackal slave girl, among others) on a journey through the kingdoms of a lusty Bronze Age world to a battle involving the gods themselves. Readers who enjoy action-filled sword-and-sorcery in the tradition of Howard's Conan the Cimmerian or Jakes' Brak the Barbarian novels will welcome The Iron Star to the genre....

Title : The Iron Star
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0750017449
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 160 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Iron Star Reviews

  • Rechan
    2018-12-08 22:42

    This is Hoagland's first full length novel, a Bronze Age sword and sorcery setting comprised of anthropomorphic animals. The story follows a young cougar barbarian named Brennus who is tasked by a fertility mother goddess to recover a meteorite filled with iron ore before the ore can be used to make weapons. Vying for the secrets of the ore is the head priest of cult to a new tyrannical god. Brennus's quest ties him to Tazia, a serval thief, slave girls, a wandering wizard and craftsmen looking to take the ore for themselves.First off, this book is very sexual. In the setting sex and nudity are out there and open. Which is not uncommon for the Howard-esque S&S genre, but there are also descripted sex scenes every few pages. There are perhaps 10 sex scenes in a 160 page book, but each individual scene isn't very long. There are also interior illustrations with nudity.The high points: there is a decent amount of regular violence and fantasy action - the most of any furry fandom book to date - of 5-6 scenes. The dialogue is fun, the prose is satisfying enough, and the plot is solid. The setting is also interesting in passing, but we don't learn that much about it. There's also a little bit of humor that works. The illustrations are nice but don't add much overall.The low points: the plot lacts any real tension or suspense, as the villains of the story are neither in a rush nor are that threatening. There is a bit of a Deus Ex Machina at the end, but it's not too bad and makes for an interesting final scene. The amount of sex actually distracts from the story, because there's just too much of it. While there is a lot of species variety in the book, there is so much that it seems as though species were randomly chosen.Overall the book is not bad, worth an afternoon read. Compared to Hoagland's Tales of Perissa (vol. 1 and 2) it is a step down however, as the short stories are stronger because they're shorter, have more life to them, and aren't bogged down with sex.

  • Roz Gibson
    2018-11-22 03:33