Read Escape from Baxters' Barn by Rebecca Bond Online

escape-from-baxters-barn

When Burdock the barn cat sneaks into the Baxters’ farmhouse kitchen to hide behind a warm stove, he overhears a sinister plot that endangers all the animals on the farm. It’s up to him and his cacophonous cohorts to figure out how to bust out of the barn before it's too late. In this winning debut, readers will fall in love with the solitary cat, the self-effacing cow, thWhen Burdock the barn cat sneaks into the Baxters’ farmhouse kitchen to hide behind a warm stove, he overhears a sinister plot that endangers all the animals on the farm. It’s up to him and his cacophonous cohorts to figure out how to bust out of the barn before it's too late. In this winning debut, readers will fall in love with the solitary cat, the self-effacing cow, the unstoppable pig, even a wayward she-owl—all brought to life with clever dialogue, poetic descriptions, and expressive black-and-white illustrations. This warm, lively read-aloud story about teamwork and friendship has the timeless appeal of a much-loved quilt....

Title : Escape from Baxters' Barn
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780544332171
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 256 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Escape from Baxters' Barn Reviews

  • Brenda
    2019-03-22 00:15

    Reading Escape from Baxters' Barn reminded me of Charlotte's Web, it has that same sort of classic feel to it. There are lovely detailed descriptions of the farm "The house was a faded yellow affair with a pitched roof and a covered porch on two sides. The old windows sat loosely and slightly askew in their casings, and the house’s paint, especially on the west side, curled up in patches like birch bark." Coupled with the pen and ink illustrations by Bond of the animals, barn and surrounding farm, all coming together setting a lovely cozy picture of their life. A picture that as the tension rises when Dewey sets his plans in motion, begins to show just the dangers that the animals really face. This would make for a lovely read aloud where children could make predictions about what will happen next, review the sequences of events, or even have discussions about the difficulties the animals encounter as they try to escape the barn. Each animal brings a unique skill in helping them to escape, and again predictions could be made about just what that skill is. This is a lovely story of friends coming together, what it means to be a true friend, and a moral message of what "if saving yourself meant abandoning someone else." Burdock is such a delightful character, who struggles over whether he should walk away. Mostly because he's always "felt like he was a pair of boots that didn't fit anyone." My heart went out to this poor cat. Just heartwarming when he comes to find out the valuable contributions that he made. There is also a smaller message that highlights the dangers of leaving your pet outside (there is a small flash back to when Burdock looses an eye in a fight with a coyote). A really important message about not leaving your pets outside, there are so many dangers out there people. Just a lovely touching story that ends happily, as it should. My favorite illustrations were of Burdock nestled on a quilt, and Noctua the barn owl flying off into the distance.

  • Jenn M
    2019-03-07 23:03

    The book Baxters' Barn is a sweet story about a group of farm animals, faced with a challenge of survival, that bond together like family members to the benefit of all. I loved the way that author Rebecca Bond created each animal with its unique personality--the kid (baby) goat was frisky and energetic; the sheep was shy and bashful and a little insecure; and the tom cat Burdock, usually the stand-offish, independent loner, is the one who brings them all together. Funny, how adversity often brings out the best in people, or at least their true character. While some reviewers mention that the style and the main theme of the story reminds them of Charlotte's Web, I did not make that comparison myself. Maybe, it's been too long since I read Charlotte's Web--or maybe I just do less comparisons / contrasts and enjoy the book on its own merit. The story held my interest, the main characters, albeit animals, had individual personalities, and there was problem, complication, resolution that contained the drama and tension of the plot. The black and white line drawings do add to the story's attraction. Well done, Ms. Bond. Overall, interesting, attention-getting, inspiring fiction with implied moral implications without preaching or judging. Recommended for middle grade children to 99+ years old.

  • Cadie Sommer
    2019-02-26 01:09

    My students loved it. It was best put by one of my third graders who was mad at the rest of the class for clapping when it was over. "Why are you clapping and happy? It's over and there is no more story. That is sad."

  • Kay Carman
    2019-02-28 03:23

    I hesitated between rating this as "I liked it" or "I really liked it." It's a sweet story, but also has a very mature plot line for the age of child it would appeal to, given the book's format and illustrations.A menagerie of nine animals - a cat, a pig, a sheep, two horses, a cow, an owl, and two goats, live in a ramshackle barn on a run-down New England farm. Burdock, the cat, somewhat of an outsider, overhears the two brothers who own the farm arguing about its fate. Money has run out,and one of the brothers has proposed burning down the barn to collect the insurance money. When Burdock reports this news to the others, they fear that Dewey will burn the barn with them in it. They begin to plan an escape.There's only one brief scene toward the end that hints that Dewey wouldn't have killed his animals, but it goes by quickly, and I think children would be anxiety-ridden that an adult who should be watching over them would perhaps kill them.It has a wonderful ending, however. All's well that ends well. It might be a good classroom read-aloud with just enough suspense to keep kids hooked, but presented by a trustworthy adult who could reassure anyone who was fearful.

  • Robert
    2019-03-01 03:23

    A real gem of a debut story. Although comparisons to Charlotte's Web are obvious in characters and location, I don't think there is quite the same charm. Wherein Charlotte's Web, the barn animals all band together to plot the salvation of Wilbur the pig, here, the barn animals team together to devise their own salvation from certain destruction. The standout character is the one-eyed barn cat Burdock, whose revelation of the impending disaster is the catalyst for the animals teaming together to save themselves. The authors illustrations are splendid and give the characters real personality, especially said cat, Burdock. Much recommended!Note to author & editor concerning error: pp. 150 "He tucked behind a barrel and only his eyes shifted..." Burdock the cat has only one eye, so 'eyes' should be singular."

  • Kim McGee
    2019-03-16 01:54

    The illustrations and camaraderie between the animals will bring "Charlotte's Web" to mind but the story is fresh. Burdock is a one-eyed barn cat who keeps to himself but can't help but alarm the others when he overhears a disturbing argument between the brothers who run the farm. The animals must band together and find a way out of the barn before Dewey does something drastic. A huge storm, gasoline cans and being locked in is a recipe for disaster so Burdock and his family of mixed barnyard animals must band together to get out. This family of animals must put their trust in each other to escape disaster and in doing so, find that they are all a bit tougher and smarter than they thought.

  • Melissapalmer404
    2019-03-12 01:24

    Book #61 Read in 2015Escape from Baxter's Barn by Rebecca BondThis book reminded me of Charlotte's Web, in the fact that all of the animals are working together for a good cause. In this book, the barn animals realize that their owner has plans to burn down their barn to get insurance money. They hope that he would let them out first but they can't be sure so they create an action plan to get all of them out safely. Each animal has a distinct personality and a purpose to help the greater good. This is well written and includes decent black and white drawings. I received a copy of this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.http://melissasbookpicks.blogspot.com

  • Julie
    2019-02-24 01:07

    Meh. I was very underwhelmed by this one, unfortunately. It has been compared to Charlotte's Web, which is understandable because of the content (farm animals must escape impending doom). However, the plot was kind of flat, and it just felt like kind of a let-down at the end. It's a just-okay read for older elementary kiddos. The illustrations (and my eternally optimistic nature!) encouraged me to keep reading through to the bitter end. Then I had to brush my teeth. Bleck.

  • Jessica
    2019-03-04 02:13

    Fact: Retired dairy cows DO NOT NEED TO BE MILKED.A cow will not produce milk unless it has a baby to feed. I'm so sick of this common misconception continually perpetuated in children's stories like this. I used to think the same because this is how shows, movies, and books all portray dairy farming. It's grossly incorrect. Stop it.This just felt like a boring retelling of Charlotte's Web. I can guarantee you this will be the nominee that my students' will check out because of the pretty cover, but will turn in a week later, unread.

  • Beth M.
    2019-03-06 20:14

    Beautiful prose descriptions and lovely illustrations. Great read a loud for my 5 year old. There was a lot of repetition of characterization, themes, and mental musing. About 3/4 way through he wanted the climax to happen already!! Satisfying ending and good message of teamwork, even in the midst of fear and self-doubt.

  • Liz
    2019-03-06 03:17

    Such a sweet story about a group of clever barn animals.

  • Destinee Sutton
    2019-03-01 02:54

    Great read-alike for Charlotte's Web.

  • Kelly
    2019-03-08 01:24

    I loved everything about this book! From the delightful cast of characters to the funny and intriguing plot, this book has everything you want in a middle grade novel. Plus, the illustrations made me love the characters, especially Fluff and Burdock, even more.

  • Katie Fitzgerald
    2019-03-23 23:57

    This review also appears on my blog, Read-at-Home Mom.Burdock the cat isn't sure how he feels about the other barn animals. After all, they seem like a family, and he is just the stray who was dumped on their doorstep. One day, though, Burdock hears the brothers who own the farm having an argument, during which one of them suggests burning the barn to the ground! Knowing what could happen to Nanny the goat, Mrs. Brown the cow, and the other barn animals in a fire, Burdock decides to stick around and do what he can to help them escape.This animal story is a straightforward tale about a struggle between good and evil, and the importance of friendship and teamwork in overcoming seemingly insurmountable odds. Though the animals do some things that are probably impossible for real animals to accomplish, the story is still believable because it has these very human issues and emotions at its heart. Though the main characters are all animals, each one is recognizable in some way because of his or her emotional depth and unique voice. There is Nanny, the motherly goat, Mrs. Brown the elderly cow who wishes not to be a burden, Burdock, the one-eyed cat who just wants a place to belong, Fluff the sheep, whose determination is outweighed only by her loyalty and Figgy the Piggy, whose logical thinking leads readers to see pigs as more than lazy slobs who roll about in the mud. Each animal adds something to the escape plan, and to the family dynamic in the barn. Humans are a part of this world, as well. There are mentions of minor characters - local business owners, the town librarian, a family of newcomers - all of whom contribute to the reader's sense of the community as a whole, and of the world into which the animals will venture if their escape plan is a success. The fact that the animals do not exist in a vacuum gives the story greater dimensions, and these occasional glimpses into the lives of humans prepare the reader for a most satisfying conclusion to the story. Another fun element of this book that will get a good laugh from adult readers is the inclusion of certain songs that the animals sing. Mrs. Brown sings both "That's Amore" and "Don't Fence Me In" each using a clever set of animal-focused lyrics. Even kids who don't know the tunes (which is likely to be most kids in the target age group) will enjoy the lyrics, and adults who sing while reading the book aloud - or even during a booktalk - will absolutely encourage kids to read this book. While it would be impossible to surpass a beloved classic, this book does share common themes and a common setting with Charlotte's Web. It seems foolish to compare a brand-new book to a true classic, but both stories will certainly appeal to a similar audience. Other read-alikes for Escape from Baxters' Barn which also feature talking animals include The Trouble with Chickens by Doreen Cronin, the Bunnicula series by James Howe, and The Cricket in Times Square by George Selden. It would also be interesting to pair with another new novel set on a farm, Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones.

  • Becky
    2019-03-24 01:22

    I enjoyed reading Escape from Baxters' Barn. Burdock, the 'hero' of the book, happens to hear an argument in the house. He reports the shocking truth of what he heard to the other barn animals later that day. While a few animals hold out hope for a day or two that maybe just maybe the situation isn't all that bad, it soon becomes clear that it IS that bad. The animals will have to seriously brainstorm and work together if they want to survive. There is a certain intensity to Escape from Baxters' Barn. While readers may think it unlikely for the book to end in a disaster, the book is plotted so intensely that one gets caught up in worrying. I'll clarify. That was my personal experience. I was getting nervous, and I felt the need to check and double-check the ending to make sure that I wasn't going to regret picking it up!!! If I didn't have the ability to CHEAT when reading animal books, I'm not sure I'd ever pick one up and read it. I liked the characters. I liked all the animals. And I liked how it all came together. I don't always think of books to pair with another book, but in this case, it just came naturally. I would recommend Arthur, For the Very First Time by Patricia MacLachlan and Charlotte's Web by E.B. White.

  • Clare Rossetter
    2019-03-09 21:22

    I really have to agree with School Library Journal that this is a truly, "charming," book and that the black and white illustrations lend support to the text. I read this book before reading this review but had already come to the same conclusion- it reminded me of the works of E.B. White and Kate DiCamillo. The art work reminded me of Garth Williams. I had a great time reading this book as it was a respite from all the stark reality books children are reading today and while it uses imagination it presents the themes of friendship, loyalty, and teamwork in a very engaging story.The characters are well rounded. The reader will come to know each one very vividly.The animals on the farm come to realize that the owner plans to burn down the barn with them in it and they must overcome their individual fears and work together to save themselves. The ending of course is a good one and leaves the reader feeling that all is well with the world. The contrast between the original owners and the family they come to live with is very obvious.I highly recommend this book. To pull in the reader you might have to sell it to students but once they begin reading they will not be able to put this text down.

  • Paula
    2019-03-06 21:18

    I picked up this book to read because, as others have stated, it seemed a companion book to "Charlotte's Web", a book I love. And there are similarities; both have talking animals and a theme of the benefits of friendship and teamwork. There is also a moment when one the barn owl explains the meaning of the word "nocturnal" to the other animals. The characters are all likeable, except Dewey, the farmer whose plans make the "escape" of the title necessary.I think kids will enjoy this book - I did. My quibble is the ending. There is really not one main character here, but the book begins by setting the scene from the viewpoint of Burdock, the one-eyed barn cat. He sets the story in motion, and of all the characters, he is the one whose thoughts and feelings are explored most fully. But the book ends not with him or his observations, but with the actions of a character who is not introduced until halfway through the book. A small thing, I guess, but I thought it made the ending feel flat, not fully satisfying.

  • Melanie Coombes
    2019-02-28 02:57

    This well written book is about a group of animals living together in a great, old barn. When they discover they are in danger, they hatch a plan to escape the barn together. The back of the book describes this as a book for 6 to 9 year olds. However, I believe it is much better suited for ages 10 and up. The author uses quite descriptive vocabulary in almost every page. Example "well, if that's not grist for the mill." Words like buoyant, triumphant, tansy, intervening, quarry, hurtling, etc are found on each page. My nine year old daughter started this book and we took turns reading aloud, but she struggled so much on these descriptive words, that she stopped reading half way thru. I continued the book, and enjoyed it. However, I wish that it did not use so many high level words because it would have been a perfect read for 8 and 9 year olds. Due to that, it is much better suited for older children.

  • Julie Williams
    2019-03-05 03:10

    The animals in Baxter's Barn have a pretty good life. They eat, work, sleep. Until one day, Burdock, the new cat, overhears Dewey and his brother arguing. What Burdock overhears starts a desperate move to escape from the barn. You see, Dewey is planning on setting the barn on fire.The reader is not given much information about why Dewey wants or feels he needs to set the barn on fire. As an older reader it was apparent to me but I think younger readers would miss the insurance scheme and might need a bit of background knowledge. The interplay between the animal characters and the plot itself was fun and everything came together well in the end.Overall, I enjoyed the book. Not a favorite - but a good anuimal fantasy.

  • Marietje
    2019-03-14 21:20

    Bond used a childhood experience of a barn burning down in her home town as inspiration for this book, but the rest of the story is a delightful true fantasy. Both Bond's pen and ink drawings and her sentences are carefully crafted. She doesn't hesitate to use more difficult words and complicated comparisons. I wonder how I will explain to the 6 to 8 year olds in my classroom that people sometimes purposely burn property to get money from the insurance. The story also touches only big issues like the difficulty small farms are having to stay afloat and the treatment of animals, but the main theme of the book is building a community where the individuals can rely on each others' strengths. I highly recommend this book also for adult.

  • Karen & Gerard
    2019-03-19 02:23

    Escape from Baxters’ Barn by Rebecca Bond is a children’s book that caught my attention because of the cover with the barn animals and a one-eyed cat. This is a cute story about how the farm animals, the barn cat and an owl work together to get away from the farm when the cat hears the farmer’s plan to burn down the barn! It is a cute fantasy story and I also liked the sketches throughout the book. The theme of the book is that everyone is important and working together results in success when everyone does their part. This is a very quick light read that I recommend to any animal lover. (Karen's review)

  • Liz Fothergill
    2019-03-04 02:06

    As others have said, this will bring to mind Charlottes Web, but the plot here is much more sinister-the farm's owner is plotting to burn down the barn and collect insurance money. The action moves along fairly quickly, which will keep younger readers involved. The message is strong and will resonate with young readers-friendship,perseverance, working together, being more together than you could ever be alone-but overall this book just didn't tick enough boxes for me. It's good enough to recommend but it's no Charlottes Web-not by a long shot.

  • Sharon Siepel
    2019-02-20 23:58

    Utterly delightful story and the illustrations make the book just that much better. Today's Charlotte's Web for young readers. Sure to be a hit with 1st-4th graders. Illustrations scattered throughout the book bring the story to life.Story centers around a cast of farm animals that determine to save themselves after they learn the farmer plans to burn down the barn, with them in it, to collect insurance money. An unlikely cat becomes their fearless leader.Great message of working together, appreciating everyone's worth and differences.

  • Amanda
    2019-02-22 19:58

    While the storyline is somewhat interesting, I found that this book was out of balance for me. I read it to my 6 and 4 year old kids--and I think there was a lot they didn't get. I have two older kids--9 and 11--and I think while the themes would be great for their age group, they may pass it over because of the farm animals. I also felt that there are parts of the story that came out of nowhere, and while they did tie together in the end, of felt like a weak connection. Overall, it's a cute book, I just didn't connect well with it.

  • Roxanne
    2019-02-24 21:54

    I won this from Goodreads. This is a wonderful children's book. It also has great illustrations. Burdock the cat is cold so he sneaks into the farmhouse to warm up. But her hears two brothers arguing and one brother Dewey plans to burn the barn down. Burdock is worried and he goes to the barn to warn the other animals. They decide to work together to escape. Every animal has a strength to contribute so they escape and find new homes. This is such a cute story about teamwork and caring. This book is charming and full of heart.

  • Kellie
    2019-03-12 02:24

    I can honestly say that I loved this book. The animals were fun and engaging, and right from the start the story piqued my interest. I found myself chuckling out loud at the animals and poor befuddled Dewey. I liked that the author had the animals figure out how to get things done as an animal would have to do it, and didn't suddenly give them opposable thumbs!The illustrations were simple but lovely. There isn't anything in this story that I feel could date it, so I could see it being read by children for years to come.

  • Valerie (He Said Books Or Me)
    2019-03-10 20:04

    This book is part Charlotte Web, part Homeward Bound (of sorts). A short book about animals who learn something terrible is about to happen and their plan for escape. I enjoyed the book. More about my personal review can be found on: hesaidbooksorme.blogspot.com.Disclaimer: I was awarded this book in a Goodreads giveaway. While I did not pay for the book, the opinions expressed in this book are strictly my own.

  • Julia Wilson
    2019-03-03 20:24

    I have a weak spot for stories about farm animals and this tale of bravery and friendship will be perfect for young grade school readers. A scraggly one-eyed cat becomes a hero and finds a family among a group of animals who have to figure out a way to escape when they learn that their owner is going to burn down the barn to collect insurance money. There is just enough suspense before we get to happily-ever-after.

  • Mr. Steve
    2019-03-23 22:20

    There is a quiet sweetness about this book and the animal friendships that are formed within it. I enjoyed it quite a bit. I think the sweet spot for this story is 3rd-4th grade, and it would make a great read-aloud. The animal characters each have distinct personalities and are easy to root for! Just a caution: the antagonist in the story is quite a mean human, and his plan could be alarming - particularly to sensitive animal-loving children.

  • Nancy
    2019-03-19 04:23

    I received the ARC from NetGalley but had problems with my computer, so I had to wait for my library’s copy to be returned – and to catch it before another patron checked it out! The kids are liking this one. It’s a charming tale of friendship/family-ship, hope, and the strength in cooperation. Reading it over the weekend, I also couldn’t help but see parallels to the current refugee crisis. Not sure if this is intentional or not but might be something to consider.